RSS

Tuesday Tip – Clean Your Phone

03 Aug

This is our weekly section, Tuesday Tip. No matter where you work, Tuesdays tend to be the dullest day of the week. So to combat the general “meh”-ness, we bring to you a quick tip to perk up your day!

Also, if you do happen to try out our Tuesday Tip, send us a photo and we’ll feature you in our column!

====================

Tuesday Tip – Issue 11 – Clean your phone!

Beauty/fashion is only one of my many addictions and anyone that knows me will tell you I am obsessed with technology and gadgets. You will always find my iPhone or BlackBerry Torch within reaching distance of me at all times.

Sometime back I had noticed a lot more breakouts on the right side of my cheek.  I couldn’t figure out why one side of was more prone to breakouts and proceeded to blame my sleeping habits. I attempted to ensure that I treated my cheeks the same but there was still no improvement and then it came to me, it was my iPhone!

The iPhone, BB Torch and most smartphones these days have large touchscreens.  Using them heavily means that all the germs from our hands get transferred and accumulated on the screen. And as a result, transfer to our face when making/receiving a call. Think about it, we tend to clean our desks, toilets and even computers but when was the last time you disinfected your phone?

To keep you and your gadget bacteria-free, I suggest 2 things.

First, use an alcohol-based sanitizer once a week to disinfect your phone. I use a squirt of Bath and Body works hand sanitizer on a kleenex to wipe off the screen, but you can purchase specialized phone wipes as well.

Second, avoid cheek-to-screen contact.  I keep an extra headset in my handbag/office desk for phone calls or use the speakerphone functionality. It might seem inconvenient but it’s a small price to pay for acne-free skin.

Happy gadgeting!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Geekiness, Tuesday Tip

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
