RSS

For the Love of Lipstick

03 May
For the Love of Lipstick

Men will never understand this but there is something amazing about lipstick.  A simple swipe can make a woman feel instantly cheery and sexy.

It took me some time to understand the virtues of lipstick; for me it always seemed like a product older women would use and I preferred a colorful eyeliner instead.  I also end up constantly drinking coffee/water, so lipstick would barely last for 10 minutes.  However, Dior managed to make me fall in love.

On a whim, I picked up my first tube of Dior lipstick: a dark pink, shimmery, glossy lipstick, Dior Addict High Shine in Chestnut Chic.  It was the perfect blend of lipstick and lip gloss and I wore it all the time and even bought a tube of it for my friend.  However, at one point during my trips between Dubai and LA, I ended up dropping it in Dad’s car.  Assuming I had lost it, I went back to pick up the same color but ended up finding my perfect pink in Catwalk Mauve.

Catwalk Mauve is a bubblegum pink that applies like gloss but comes in a tube. It’s bright enough to wear at night with a smokey eye and light enough to be a perfect color for the office. For the past 3 years, it is very unlikely to find my purse without this. So you can understand my stress when I noticed it was down to its last twist.

While perusing online, I was shocked to see the High Shine collection had been discontinued and the Dior Addict lip colors had been relaunched with Kate Moss headlining their campaign.

Dubai tends to be a few months behind with product launches and I rushed to Sephora to see if they had any spares from the old collection or at the very least, see if one of the sales associates could find me a “dupe”.  I handed over my precious tube to the sales associate for swatching and he asked me to wait.  After a few anxious minutes, he returned with 2, that’s right, 2 tubes of Catwalk Mauve.

Now I know these won’t last forever, but it definitely gives me time to find my new “signature” pink.  Big shoutout to the amazing sales consultant at Sephora Dubai Mall for looking through the stocks and hooking me up.

The best thing about the beauty world is that there are new products available to try everyday, but it also means your old favorites have a high likelihood of being discontinued in a few years.  So tell me, do you have a signature lipstick/eyeliner/product you can’t live without? What would you do if it was discontinued? Are you rushing off to pick up any backups for your favorite?

Dior Addict Lipstick is available at Sephora Dubai for AED 135 and at Sephora.com for US$ 28.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in Ladies Only

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
