RSS

Kérastase Day Out

18 Apr

The lovely folks at Kérastase invited myself and a few other bloggers out for a day of hair pampering in Physiomins Institute in Abu Dhabi. Kérastase is a well known professional brand in this region but this was my first experience with them and it definitely won’t be the last.

Kérastase works differently from the other upscale salon brands because instead of just applying the treatment or buying their products, they insist on a consultation with their trained technicians prior to their treatment. So the lovely Pamela from Kérastase started the treatment by asking me about what I wanted from my hair, followed by an examination of my hair and scalp.

I told Pamela that my major issue with my hair was the frizziness. I have what I call extremley moody hair. On a good day, I’ll get controlled, soft-curls. On a bad day, or about 90% of my life, I’ll get this frizz ball which resembles what The Addams’ Family’s Cousin Itt would look post-electrocution. With the heat and humidty rising as summer arrives in Dubai, my hair was looking drier and crazier than usual and needed some desperate TLC.

Pamela checked out my hair and scalp and suggested the Kera-Hammam Slim treatment to relax my frizzy curls.  She also mentioned that my dandruff issues were due to not rinsing out traces of shampoo and conditioner, as well as from tying my hair up before it was completely dry. Even after reading numerous magazines and beauty blogs, Pamela was able to better instruct me to take care of my hair which immediate instilled in confidence about the upcoming treatment.

My treatment started with Bain Nutri-Thermique where my hair was steam-washed after which the Kera-Hammam Slim treatment was applied in a two-step process with a cream followed by oil. Unlike most salon treatments, the Kera-Hammam treatment didn’t have a strong smell. It was comforting to see the technician apply the product with her bare hands suggesting that the product was safe and wouldn’t have a long-term damaging effect on my hair. As a final step, the conditioning masque Nutri-Therimique was applied and allowed to work it’s magic under a steam bath.  The Nutri-Thermique range is great because it is heat activated.  Hence, if you tend to blow dry/straighten your hair often, the products will end up working better.

The final step of the treatment was applying Elixir Ultime oil to my hair prior to blow drying. Elixir Ultime is a lightweight oil that gives your hair a shine and controls frizz.  Once the blow dry was done, the light application of the oil was used to tame any flyawyas and bring out the shine. And the result were there for me to see!

Last week I had gotten a haircut and blow dry the week before and had something to compare with. Post the Kérastase treatment, I noticed an added vibrancy to my hair color. It was much easy to get through the blow dry and there was no frizzing in the drying step. Upon a closer look, I noticed all the strands looked healthy and uniform and while touching the hair, I noticed there was more volume but less frizz.

I admit I’m not one to indulge in salon treatments often.  Stylists often find a thousand things wrong with your hair and suggest six different take home products which end up being covered in dust on your shelf.  Kérastase suggested a simple 3-step salon treatment and sent me home with a bath (shampoo) and a fondant (conditoner) from their Nutri-Thermique line and the Elixir Ultime oil. The shampoo and conditioner have already been incorporated into my routine and I’m additcted to the Elixir oil which has replaced all the serums/gels in my routine.  Elixir Ultime works into my hair routine easily whether glossing up my straightened hair or taming my natural curls.  Considering the Kera-Hammam treatment takes less than an hour, I’ll be making my way to the salon once a month to keep giving my hair a new lease of life.

To learn more about Kérastase, visit them on Facebook, Twitter, or their website.  I was extremely satisfied with my Kérastase experience and I’m sure so will you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Ladies Only

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Kérastase Day Out

  1. Swaroop Thapar

    April 20, 2011 at 08:08

    If I could end up looking like you Ekta so fresh and beautiful then I dont have any regrets on buying these products… I will visit kerastase this weekend and get my Nutri-Therimique and Elixir Ultime oil. Well done Kerastase you made my friend look even more beautiful and gorgeous…..

     
    • dollz87

      April 30, 2011 at 20:05

      Thanks Swaroop, you are such a doll!

       
  2. DERIC LOBO

    July 5, 2011 at 12:51

    Nice to know about it but about what gents. Pls let me know.

     
    • Ekta

      July 6, 2011 at 19:02

      I think guys should be able to use the same products and treatments but we’ve reached out to the Kerastase team for men-specific tips.

       
  3. tami

    August 5, 2012 at 10:43

    hi Ekta, i have a damaged hair (bigtime) by a salon offering digital perming.. after the treatment which turned out to be tradional perming with the worst kind of medicine they used on my hair.. my nightmare begun.. frizzy tangled messy and, bad hair day everyday… i would like to know where you had the kerastase treatment.. i need a professional to treat my hair.. i cant stand my hair anymore.. im being laughed at every where i go people stare at me like i have gone to hell and back..

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

