RSS

Beauty Tip: Tea Tree Oil

01 Apr
Beauty Tip: Tea Tree Oil

ATTENTION – WE’VE MOVED! Dollz in Dubai has moved to www.DollzinDubai.com. Find this and more related articles there.

I had a mini heart attack today when I almost dropped my bottle of Tea Tree Oil on the floor.  Thankfully my hand-eye coordination wasn’t too bad and a crisis was averted!

Tea tree oil is one of those holy grail products that you can always find on my dresser or in my travel kit.  My main use for it? Warding off nasty pimples!

I have combination skin so every so often I start breaking out.  I know a lot of people have tried prescription medications to combat acne but I’ve avoided it.  My skin isn’t too problematic and I’m not fond of flooding my system with unneeded medications.

I know the term “oil” might sound scary but it’s actually more like an ointment.  Use a Q-tip or your clean finger to cover the affected area.  Now this isn’t a magic treatment to make a gigantic pimple disappear overnight, but it definitely reduces the size and redness of any intruder on your face.  Use it twice a day and everything is good!  Just a reminder, it will sting so make sure you test it out behind your ear or on your neck to check for any allergies. The sting reminds me a lot of Vicks VapoRub.

Tea tree oil also makes a great toner.  I absolutely love the one from Lush, but you can make your own concoction with a mixture of diluted rose water and a few drops of Tea Tree Oil. Use this before moisturizing to regulate oil production from your pores.

As a heads up, concentrated tea tree oil can be quite expensive but if stored in a dark bottle, it can easily last for months and will be cheaper than any cosmetic product a dermatologist recommends.  I’m currently loving Body Shop’s Tea Tree Oil.

Old (left) vs. New (right) Packaging

 

ATTENTION – WE’VE MOVED! Dollz in Dubai has moved to www.DollzinDubai.com. Find this and more related articles there.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Ladies Only

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Beauty Tip: Tea Tree Oil

Leave a Reply

 
