RSS

Product Alert: MAC Fluidline

13 Feb

A couple of weeks ago, MAC’s latest collection by Mickey Contractor was released in Dubai.  I had seen some of the reviews of the collection online and decided to head over to the Marina Mall outlet to pick up some goodies for myself.  I splurged on one of the gel liners, a Fluidline called Siahi. (On a side note, the Mickey Contractor collection has named all it’s products with Hindi names, so Siahi means ink in Hindi.  Isn’t that cute?)

Gel eyeliners are a must-need staple in any women’s beauty arsenal.  They are highly-pigmented creamy eyeliners that can be used in lots of different ways.  Also, since they come in a jar, you avoid the hassle of sharpening and one little jar will last you a lifetime.  I first started using gel eyeliners from Bobbi Brown. I bought a set from the duty free cart in the airplane, which consisted of two pots (Black and Sepia) and a mini-brush.  I think the BB eyeliner is less prone to drying out but you can avoid this with MAC by either closing your pots very tightly or mixing in some Visine if it starts to dry up.  MAC has the benefit of having a wider color range; in addition to Siahi, I have pots in Macroviolet (purple) and Shade (dark green).  However I think my favorite shade is BB’s Sepia which looks good on everyone and is even great for blonds.

The most common use for gel liners would be lining the upper lash line.  You’ll need a nice stiff eyeliner brush to create a dramatic line of your preferable thickness.  Then use the left over product on the brush to lightly line your water line.  Whenever I need to look extra glam, I’ll use this method of application.

The next two methods are what I consider my personal secrets, but I’m willing to share!

Technakohl Method
For a normal evening out or day at the office, thick liner might be too dramatic and you might need something easier.  Using MAC’s Technkohl liner.  These are pencil eyeliners that you can twist up instead of sharpening.  I dip this into the pot of gel liner and use it to line my waterline/lower lash line  It gives me a nice dramatic eye without requiring too much product or skill (especially when I’m rushed for work).  The Technakohl also lets you “tightline” (i.e. line the area underneath your top lashes) without any tugging or sharpness.  You can also do this with a small brush like the one from Bobbi Brown.  The reason why I prefer Technakohl is you can get a nice mix of color.  This morning I used the Greyprint Technakohl with the Siahi Fluidline to get a teal blue with a shimmer of grey.  Also, since you are using one eyeliner to pick up the other, you avoid wasting any product on a brush.  Just make sure to wipe off your Technakohl after use. Independent of Fluidlines, I like Technakohls because you can easily carry them in your bag without worrying about them needing to be sharpened and as a bonus they come in a wide range of colors.  I like to think the Technakohl+Fluidline method gives you a more exotic look where the lower lash line is exaggerated. Just make sure you finish off the look with a generous swipe of mascara on the top lashes.

Eyeshadow Base
The third use of gel liners is as an eyeshadow.  It might seem weird considering how thick and pigmented these are but you must realize that most makeup is just the same formula thickened up or watered down.  I like using the gel liner as a base for a smokey eye.  You’ll need a good cream shadow/concealer brush for this.  Take a smidgen of the gel liner and blend it out well on the eyelid, stopping before the crease.  Now take a color in the same family shade and layer on top.  The gel liner will make sure your eyeshadow will stick for the rest of the night and will also give you more pigmentation if your eyeshadow is a little weak.

So far I’m loving Siahi.  The blue shade makes the whites in my eyes pop but it’s dark enough to wear to the office. It’s also especially great for the brown-eyed girls as it brings out the lighter colors in your iris.

I went to MAC today to check out the ChamPale and sadly they’ve already sold out my favorite product.  But the store manager has offered to give me a makeover! It should be happening sometime next week and expect a long and colorful entry!

So tell me:

1. Do you own any gel liners?
2. If so, which ones and what are your thoughts?
3. Are you now jonesing for a trip to Sephora/MAC? Sorry!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2011 in Ladies Only

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Product Alert: MAC Fluidline

  1. calyani Ganesan

    February 14, 2011 at 02:41

    This is definitely going to be my next purchase! Thanks for the alert. I always have such a hard time with eyeliner but so far I love every MAC product I’ve bought. THe only thing I dislike is the price. 😛

     
  2. ninatinnablog

    February 14, 2011 at 05:33

    I use Stila’s Smudgepot on occasion but I am not thrilled about its staying power. It smudges a lot. How is Fluidline? Does it smudge and does it last all day? I’ll be jonesing for a trip to MAC if you tell me it doesn’t smudge! 😉
    ❤ Tinna

     
    • dollz87

      February 14, 2011 at 10:48

      Fluidlines last for me 10-12 hours without budging. Even after an intense gym workout, they seem to do OK. I’d suggest using some UDPP or dust powder before applying and try building up in layers.

      Stila and MAC are owned by the same parent company, Estee Lauder, so I expect their formulas to not differ by much but do give MAC a try. Let me know which shade you pick up!

       
  3. hala anwar

    February 14, 2011 at 07:10

    I’ve used the Mac liners but somehow I always go back to my trusty Bourjois ultra black pencil!

    But I’ve been meaning to try a fluid one..

     
    • dollz87

      February 14, 2011 at 10:49

      MAC pencil liners are definitely disappointing and I prefer Urban Decay’s 24/7 in eye pencils. But do try out a gel liner. I think Maybelline/L’oreal produce a decent range too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
